Control access to visualisations and stories

Who can see your Flourish projects and data depends on the type of Flourish account that you have.

The default: Public accounts

If you have a free Public account, all your projects are publicly visible by default, even before you publish them. Any user with the URL of your project will be able to view it – including the raw data.

In addition, all your projects are listed on your profile page (to view this, visit Settings > My account). Your profile page is publicly visible, though at present these pages aren’t linked to from elsewhere on the Flourish site.

To keep your data private, upgrade to a Personal or Business account.

Keep your data and projects private: Personal and Business accounts

For Personal and Business users, all your visualisations and data are private by default. No-one can see your visualisations unless you publish them.

Share visualisations with colleagues: Business accounts

If you have a Business account, you can share unpublished projects with other members of your organisation who have Flourish accounts. Just send them a link to the project.

Password-protect your projects: Business accounts

If you have a Business account, you can also publish your projects behind a password. This is useful for sharing them with colleagues who don’t have a Flourish account or people outside of your company, such as customers.

To do this, in the visualisation editor, hit “Export and publish”, choose “Publish”, and select the password option. Your published visualisation will then be safely encrypted until the correct password is entered.

Password protect a project